622 South Sergeant Avenue
Circa 1900, Queen Anne
Architectural details are Doric Columns and Pediment
Joplin architect, August Michaelis
Cadi Klein House
Cadi Klein immigrated from Krojanke, Germany in 1881 and found employment in a Cartage clothing store owned by his uncle, A. H. Goldstein. After working for his uncle eight years, Klein took over management of the Model Clothing Company in Joplin as Goldstein’s partner. Eventually he purchased his uncles interest and became sole owner of the firm. Known for more that his successful clothing store, klein played a significant role in Joplin’s Jewish community. He was instrumental in the organization of the United Hebrew Congregation, serving as Vice-President on the first board of officers in 1916, Klein and other members of the United Hebrew Congregation’s building committee retained architect Austin Allen to design the majestic and unique synagogue that still stands today at 702 South Sergeant. Only a short distance from the synagogue he helped establish stands Klein’s home. It is an excellent example of Victorian architecture, built in the 1890’s the house features many unique and handsome architectural details, but the corner fireplace is especially appealing with its raised classic figure tiles. The tile in the top corner is a portrait of Michelangelo. This outstanding example is similar to one designed by Isaac Broome, prominent 19th century American ceramic sculpture
Cadi operated the Model Clothing Store Building, 407-409 S. Main Street, circa 1899 Late 19th and 20th Century Revival, Two-Part Commercial Block in Murphysburg business district.
This building replaced two earlier, two-story buildings. It is a rare surviving example of the work of the Joplin architect, August Michaelis. The building’s earliest occupants were the Criterian Saloon (north storefront) and Cadi Klein’s Model Clothing Store, an elite Joplin clothier. Both were long-lived commercial ventures that survived into the 1960s and 1970s. Over the years, the upper floors contained various occupants including a photography studio, and Michaelis’ architectural office. The existing south storefront and parapet wall date to post a circa 1902 remodeling.